Jaded Valentine

Feed me your faded love, my Love

My jaded valentine

Torn from adverts personal

Smoke stained and splashed with wine

You’re not my first, I’m not you’re last

We’ll be each other’s never

Love’s just eternal ‘til it’s past

Entombed in selfish pleasure

CCG

2024-01-31

About ccarterglass

Born 1942, live in Baltimore, retired from government service, information management. Navy veteran. Veteran of Vietnam and the drug wars. Artist. Love music; classic, classic rock, celtic traditional, celtic rock. Also love all creatures great and small.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jaded Valentine

  1. czickcomcastnet says:

    Did you write this poem? If so, very good. It reminds me of a Dorothy Parker poem. ________________________________

    Like

  2. czickcomcastnet says:

    This is the Valentine’s poem I recite to myself every Valentine’s eve:

    Tomorrow is Saint Valentine’s Day

    English source: William Shakespearehttps://oxfordsong.org/poet/william-shakespeare

    Tomorrow is Saint Valentine’s day, All in the morning betime, And I, a maid at your window, To be your Valentine. Then up he rose, and donned his clothes, And dupped the chamber door. Let in the maid that out a maid Never departed more. ________________________________

    Like

  3. Anne Elizabeth Belcher, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN says:

    Thank you for sharing this perspective on Valentine’s Day, Carter.

    Anne

    Like

Leave a comment